may 25th – let’s just pretend that smear is ‘decor’

DISTANCE: 1,300m

TIME: 45mins

For once my own timing (THANK YOU, ENORMOUS CRYSTAL PALACE CLOCK! The clock is so wonderful. 水泳の気持ち!) and the Wonder Widget are in sync! However, I am dead chuffed with this as I thought I had only done 1,200 – an extra 100m is something I shall not sneeze at!

A swim of two halves Brian – first 500m or so felt a long, slow, and TIRING struggle. I am reluctantly concluding that warming up properly takes 500m rather than 50m. Can this really be correct, esp when you’re as cr4p as I am? I do only seem to start settling after a longer time.

However, the latter half felt a LOT better! And I managed two lengths (not in a row), breathing every three strokes – and felt like it wasn’t actually that bad. BUT, I know I couldn’t have done this in the first 500m, where breathing every other strokes was still a bit of a gasp.

It is like this with running for me as well though – first 3.5km is always pretty painful – only really seem to start “enjoying” the process at around 4km – and is that because you know the end is in sight? Never quite worked it out. (This is from treadmill experience, where the 3km seems to last FOREVER and brings an existential dread that you will never get any better or faster and time turns to treacle).

And speaking of existential dread – part of the reason why the DREAD kicked in on the treadmill was that the gym always showed awful SKY NEWS. I thought I would escape that with swimming, but Oasis – for whatever BARMY REASON – has a TV in changing room and it is tuned to – yes ofcourse – SKY NEWS!! What is it with Sky News and people in lycra?? Seriously! Isn’t some channel repeating Frasier? Or – there’s enough fitness telly out there – WHY SKY? Presumably the venues are paying extra for Sky Services too – wouldn’t it be more economical to put on the HORROR channel so we would watch some old Doctor Who whilst squeezing into the SLAZENGER?

But at least their changing rooms are sparkling, which is more than I can say about CryPal. Of course CryPal has more KIDS – but it is not that nice repeating to self “just ignore the smear, just ignore the BROWN SMEAR in the cubicle”. (On saying that, there’s loads of cubicles and space – which is more than I can say for Kings Cross – so tbh it’s no deal breaker. Just a bit… erghh, meh…)

I actually suspect CryPal keeps hiring cleaners but they just get LOST in the maze that is the sports centre. There’s probably someone they hired in 1964 stuck in a cupboard with their foot stuck in a bucket…

Well, quite. Anyway, I’d best go – another exciting day of keeping my eye on the European Masters livestream (chaos) awaits, so,

SEE YOU NEXT WATER TIME

may 25th – let’s just pretend that smear is ‘decor’

Leave a Reply

