22 Jan – (pool places with you) i wanna go

DISTANCE: equals rate times time (OK, hands up, I completely lost track).

TIME: approx 45 mins.

But anyway, listen up my precious blueberries!! This swim was a milestone swim for me and let me tell you why!

This swim was my first ever swim in the MEDIUM LANE!

Well, 4 lengths worth of medium lane until the faster swimmers came in and I decided to head back to the cooler kids in the slow lane, but what about it eh?? FUTURE FISH DING DING DING.

Other than that, swim was a bit mildly irritating in parts, the pool was busy, the slow lane had a gang of dudes there to chat who swam up the lane in pairs *ngg*, and quite a lot of the slow lane crew were actually… really slow. Slower than me slow. But I still wasn’t fast enough to head to the medium lane, and even if I had been, that lane was a total bunfight so eff it.

CRAMP: dammit! Actually got cramp this time. However, it was after I hung out for a quick catch-up with fellow swim crew member who joined the medium lane late doors. I set off to do ONE length back, and halfway through the length the cramp got so bad I had to abandon ship and crawl out halfway. Drat it.

SWIM ITSELF: all crawl/catch-up/pull buoy ‘sets’, 2x BR for warm up.

Coach Chlorine was in the house (changing ‘village’?) so I have some HOMEWORK, thusly:

FAT HANDS I KNOW YOU’RE THE ONECoach Chlorine somehow managed to get a glimpse across the pool from the fast lane and comments that that my ‘catch and pull’ could do some work, particularly in the area of wot I am doing with my fingers in the water. Keep fingers pointing down, do not just flail around with flat hand. Perhaps something like this.

WHAT NEXT?

FAST AND FURIOUS: next week ‘going faster’ appears to be on the renshuu menu. Am a bit worried about this – only one pool I go to has a pace clock, and quite frankly, I can’t really see the hands through the goggle-filter! So assessing pace might be quite difficult. Here we go:

8 x 50 Aim to swim event pace 85 – 90 sec per 50 (15 SRI, PTC 1:45) 1 x 100 Moderate swim (60 SRI, PTC 4:00) 2 x 50 Aim to swim faster than event pace 80 – 85 sec per 50 (15 SRI, PTC 1:45) 1 x 100 Moderate swim (30 SRI, PTC 3:30)

So, errr… that should be… er… yeah. I don’t know. What?

UNCORRECTED PERSONALITY TRAITS: the skill development part of next week is called ‘alignment kicking’. I wonder if this is the same thing that Coach Fish Robb Fish is doing in this video? It looks like something that might make me splutter, get me nowhere fast AND be embarrassing as I flail about wondering if I’m doing it correctly. Yikes! Ah well, this might depend on whether I get a chance to go in a quiet pool.

AND FINALLY: I have hott new swimming merch i.e. viz a swimming cap for LONG HAIR. I shall report back on whether it makes any difference at all and if it turns me into Ruta Meilutyte (her hair is longer than mine).

Bonus Ruta Meilutyte content: presumably she is so fast cos she has to swim away from all the HAUNTED COFFEE.

SEE YOU NEXT WATER TIME

 

22 Jan – (pool places with you) i wanna go

3 thoughts on “22 Jan – (pool places with you) i wanna go

  1. Coach Chlorine says:

    Robb Fish looks like he’s doing Superman drill there? It’s not a bad one to try, if it gets a bit much (or lane-speed politics makes it difficult) then bail out after the first half of each length and do the second half normal crawl.

    Like

    1. Coach Chlorine says:

      That link about improving your catch is also A+. Follow those steps and you will be LARFING. Nice high elbow out to the side (near the surface of the water) and palm of hand facing backwards, fingertips pointing down. BOOM.

      Like

Leave a Reply

